The news is by your side.

T10 League breaks Independence Cup viewership records on digital media

SHARJAH/ISLAMABAD: The T-10 Cricket League which enthralled cricket fans from December 14 to December 17, at Sharjah Cricket Stadium was an exciting treat for all cricket fans, viewership statistics from a number of online platforms have confirmed.

The star-studded league brought forward multi-talented star performers from across the globe, impressing the crowd and setting steaming records with highest strike rates to date.

With crowd pullers like Boom Boom Afridi, Sehwag, Hassan Ali, Tamim Iqbal, Chandimal, Shakib-ul-Hasan, Eoin Morgan, Plunkett, Bravo and many more – the upsurge of enthusiasm and energy was already there.

The key highlight of the event however, was the star power – celebrities like Abrar-ul-Haq, Adnan Siddiqui, BipashaBasu, Fahad Mustafa, Hamayun Saeed, Humaima Malik, Kapil Sharma, Kriti Sanon, Mehwish Hayat, Mawra and UrwaHocane, Sohail Khan, Sushmita Sen, Zarine Khan & many more.

Furthermore, the absolute pleasure was that the star-studded T-10 series did not belong to a specific region but rather was a communal tournament to celebrate cricket at its best, bringing nations together.


The league, like the Pakistan Super League, was a franchise-based tournament but featured the new 10-over format of the game. It featured top former and current cricket stars like Virender Sehwag, Shahid Afridi, Fakhar Zaman, Eoin Morgan, Liam Plunkett, Dinesh Chandimal and Sarfraz Ahmed.

Five teams participated in the tournament are Maratha Arabians, Pakhtoons, Bengal Tigers, Kerala Kings, Punjabi Legends and Sri Lanka Cricket. Each team was headed by an ‘Icon Player.’

Kerala Kings created history by winning the first edition of the league.

The T10 League Opening Ceremony

As the finest cricketers glided with roaring performances on field, the stats for digital presence online underwent a noteworthy elevation by locking 2.8 Million livestream views (exclusive via cricketgateway.pk and its partners wickets.tv, PTV sports app and Goonj) compared to 1.1 million during Independence Cup ( with 93.67% from Pakistan).

“Limited overs cricket is now ready to take on any other sports platform. With PCB, our partners ITW, TransMedia Group and our client portfolio, we are more than ready to align all mediums to support, promote and capitalize on this domain,” CEO Blitz Advertising Ahsen Idris said.

Advertisers flocked for capitalizing on this new format with placements on both TV and digital stream, including Jazz, Pepsi, ABL, Sooper Biscuits, Dettol, Harpic, Audionic and Veet among several others.

Kerala Kings become first T10 League champions




You might also like