The news is by your side.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa it was previously known as the North-West Frontier Province until 2010 when the name was changed to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa by the 18th Amendment to Pakistan’s Constitution, and is known colloquially by various other names. Peshawar is the capital and largest city of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

KPK is the third-largest province of Pakistan by the size of both population and economy, though it is geographically the smallest of four.

On March 2, 2017, the Government of Pakistan considered a proposal to merge the Federally Administered Tribal Areas with KPK, and to repeal the Frontier Crimes Regulations, which are currently applicable to the tribal areas.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has the third largest provincial economy in Pakistan. KPK share of Pakistan’s GDP has historically comprised 10.5%, although the province accounts for 11.9% of Pakistan’s total population.

The part of the economy that KPK dominates is forestry, where its share has historically ranged from a low of 34.9% to a high of 81%, giving an average of 61.56%. Currently, KPK accounts for 10% of Pakistan’s GDP, 20% of Pakistan’s mining output.