The news is by your side.


National Disaster Management Authority, abbreviated as NDMA, is an agency of the Ministry of Home Affairs whose primary purpose is to coordinate response to natural or man-made disasters and for capacity-building in disaster resiliency and crisis response.

NDMA was established through the Disaster Management Act enacted by the Government of India in 23 December 2005. The Prime Minister is the ex-officio chairperson of the same.

The agency is responsible for framing policies, laying down guidelines and best-practices and coordinating with the State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMAs) to ensure a holistic and distributed approach to disaster management.

It is headed by a nine-member board chaired by the Prime Minister of India.

The remainder of the board consists of members nominated based on their expertise in areas such as planning, infrastructure management, communications, meteorology, and natural sciences. The day-to-day management of the agency is overseen by the office of the Vice Chair.

NDMA is operationally organized into the following divisions:

  • Policy & Planning
  • Mitigation
  • Operations & Communications
  • Administration
  • Capacity Building