The news is by your side.

Senate by-election

Sharif-backed candidate wins Senate by-poll in Punjab Assembly

LAHORE: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) backed independent candidate Dr Asad Ashraf won the Senate by-election held at Punjab Assembly with 298 votes. Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Dr Zarqa Taimur secured 38 votes in the upper house by-poll. The Senate seat from Punjab fell vacant after Nehal Hashmi’s disqualification. The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) had declared the PML-N Senate candidates as independent in the aftermath of the Supreme Court of Pakistan’s ruling over the petitions challenging…