The news is by your side.

Tessori out as nine MQM-P candidates withdraw from Senate elections

KARACHI: Nine of the fifteen candidates of the two separate factions of the Muttahida Quami Movement – Pakistan (MQM-P), including Karman Tessori, have withdrawn their nomination papers and dropped out of the upcoming Senate elections.

The internal rift which emerged within the MQM over the nomination of Kamran Tessori does not seem to have reduced, but contentious issue over the nomination of candidates for the Senate elections seems to likely resolved.

The Election Commission of Pakistan has received a letter from the MQM stating that nine of the candidates nominated for the Senate elections are dropping out. Two factions of the MQM, one in PIB Colony and in Bahadurabad, had nominated fifteen candidates for the Senate elections.

Nine candidates of the Bahadurabad group will run for the Senate elections. This includes Farogh Naseeem, Nasreen Jalil, Amir Chisti, Abdul Qadir Khanzada and Sanjay Perwani.

Farogh Naseeem and Amir Chisti are contesting up on a general seat, Nasreen Jalil on women’s seat, Abdul Qadir Khanzada on a technocrat seat, and Sanjay Perwani on a minorities seat.

Yesterday, MQM-P held intra-party elections which saw Farooq Sattar emerge as the chief with a huge margin. Sattar agreed to bury the hatchet and visit the head office of the rival faction in Bahadurabad, who have declared the polls as illegal.

It may be be mentioned that today is the last day to withdraw nomination papers for the Senate elections scheduled to be held on March 5.



You might also like