The news is by your side.

Warner leads Hyderabad to IPL title as Bangalore fail again

Australian Warner (69) led from the front, top scoring for his side to steer Hyderabad to 208-7 after opting to bat at Bangalore’s M Chinnaswamy Stadium.

The Australian then returned to marshal his bowlers, who staged a stunning comeback after Chris Gayle (76) and Virat Kohli (54) had threatened to take the game away.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar, the highest wicket-taker in this year’s competition, conceded only nine runs in the final over to dash Bangalore’s hopes of being third time lucky in the final of the Twenty20 competition.

Warner and Shikhar Dhawan (28) added 63 runs to give Hyderabad a decent start. They lost Moises Henriques cheaply but Warner joined up with Yuvraj Singh (38) to consolidate the innings.

Warner fell in the 14th over and Yuvraj in the 17th but Ben Cutting’s 15-ball blitz ensured they had enough on the board for their bowlers.

Cutting (39 not out) smacked fellow Australian Shane Watson for three sixes in the final over of the innings as Hyderabad plundered 52 runs off the last three overs to breach the 200-mark.

Watson endured a terrible outing with the ball, conceding 61 runs in his four wicketless overs.



You might also like