The news is by your side.

West Indies women’s cricket team clinch T20 World Cup

This is the first time that the West Indian women’s cricket team has won the ICC Women’s World T20. The match went down to the very last over but the Caribbean team cruised to an easy victory with eight wickets intact.

The Southern Stars started their bid for the fourth consecurtive World T20 by beating South Africa but lost their second game to New Zealand. They beat Sri Lanka and Ireland to ensure their place in the semi-final.

They overcame England in the semi-final stage to qualify for the final.

The Caribbean side, on the other hand, had lost just a game on their way to the final. They started off with beating Pakistan and defeated Bangladesh in their second match of the game stage.

England edged past West Indies by a wicket but the side beat India to remain alive in the tournament. They defeated New Zealand to qualify for the final against the three-time champions.

Australia (squad): Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Meg Lanning (captain), Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani.

West Indies (squad): Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Stacy-Ann King, Kycia Knight, Kyshona Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Shaquana Quintyne, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt, Stafanie Taylor (captain).



You might also like