The news is by your side.

 West Indies win toss, choose to bat against Pakistan

BRIDGETOWN, BARBADOS: West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and chose to bat first against Pakistan on the opening morning of the second Test of the three-match series at Kensington Oval in Barbados on Sunday.

Following a seven-wicket win in the opening match in Jamaica, Pakistan are introducing leg-spinner Shadab Khan for his Test debut at the expense of fast bowler Wahab Riaz as they seek the victory which would be a first-ever at the venue and also clinch a first Test series triumph in the Caribbean ahead of the final Test in Dominica in a week’s time.

Despite the second innings batting collapse at Sabina Park which paved the way for Pakistan’s victory, the West Indies have named an unchanged XI that features three middle-order batsmen – Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope and Vishaul Singh – with the combined experience of only 10 Tests.


West Indies: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Kieran Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Vishaul Singh, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Devendra Bishoo, Alzarri Joseph, Shannon Gabriel

Pakistan: Misbah ul Haq (capt), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed (wicketkeeper), Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG), Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match Referee: Chris Broad (ENG)




You might also like