The news is by your side.

World T20 Final: Sri Lanka restricts India to 130

MIRPUR: India after being asked to bat first in the final of 2014 World T20 posted 130 runs on the board at Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur on Sunday, ARY News reported.

The match started after a 40-minute rain delay without any loss of over.

Lasith Malinga, Sri Lankan skipper considering India’s ability to chase opted to field first after winning the toss.

India have beaten Sri Lanka in the last two tournament finals, chasing successfully on both occasions.

India lost an early wicket of Ajinkya Rahane but the man in form Virat Kohli showed his master class with the bat posting 77 runs that came off in 58 balls.

Rohit Sharma played watchfully to score 29 off 26 balls.

Rangana Herath and Angelo Mathews bowled economical spells giving away 23 and 25 run respectively taking 1-wicket each.

If India emerges victorious in the game, they will become the first side to have gone unbeaten through a World T20.

While Sri Lanka bidding a Twenty20 international farewell to Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara with the victory in the final.




You might also like