The news is by your side.

Zimbabwe announce T20I tri-series against Australia, Pakistan

HARARE: Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) on Tuesday announced a triangular Twenty20 International series in July against Australia and Pakistan in Harare, and a five-match one-day international series against Pakistan in Bulawayo thereafter.

The tri-series will commence on July 1, with the home side taking on Pakistan. Australia start their campaign the following day against Pakistan. Each team will face each other twice before the top two sides clash in the final on July 8. All matches will be played at the Harare Sports Club.

The ODI series will start on July 13 at the Queens Sports Club, which will host the subsequent four matches as well, including the fifth and final ODI on July 22.

“Following months of negotiations, we are pleased to confirm we will be hosting a T20I triangular series involving Australia and Pakistan, followed by an ODI series against Pakistan,” said Faisal Hasnain, the ZC managing director.

“Playing two of the game’s biggest teams will provide us with a very welcome litmus test as we forge ahead with our plans to develop a stronger Zimbabwe side capable of consistently competing and winning against the best.”

Read More: Pakistan thrash Zimbabwe to clinch series

The last time Pakistan visited Zimbabwe was back in 2015, when they won the three-match ODI series 2-1. Australia last travelled to Zimbabwe in August 2014.

On 1 April, in reaction to Zimbabwe’s failure to qualify for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, ZC terminated the contracts of 13 technical staffers of the senior national team, the ‘A’ team and the Under-19 team, including Heath Streak and Lance Klusener, as well as that of Tatenda Taibu, the national team selection panel convener.

ZC went on to state that an interim selection panel would be appointed to take care of the matches against Pakistan and Australia, following which their performance will be reviewed.

Tri-series schedule:

Date Match
1 July 2018 Zimbabwe vs Pakistan
2 July 2018 Pakistan vs Australia
3 July 2018 Australia vs Zimbabwe
4 July 2018 Zimbabwe vs Pakistan
5 July 2018 Pakistan vs Australia
6 July 2018 Australia vs Zimbabwe
8 July 2018 FINAL

Zimbabwe v Pakistan ODI schedule

DATE Match
13 July 2018 First ODI
16 July 2018 Second ODI
18 July 2018 Third ODI
20 July 2018 Fourth ODI
22 July 2018 Fifth ODI



You might also like