The news is by your side.

Zimbabwe announces cricket World Cup squad

“The objective is to be really competitive against good opposition, stiff opposition, opposition that is ranked above us and most of the teams are,” Whatmore said, flanked by team captain Elton Chigumbura and convenor of selectors Givemore Makoni.

He said the southern African nation’s team must “stay in the game as long as possible” to win matches, with an eye on getting to the “super eight” stage of the tournament.

Whatmore, 60, was appointed Zimbabwe’s head coach last week with a promise of a long-term contract, replacing Stephen Mangongo who was demoted to the under-19 team in the wake of a string of defeats.

He has previously coached Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Zimbabwe are in pool B, alongside India, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland and the United Arab Emirates.

Zimbabwe’s squad: Elton Chigumbura (capt), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Tendai Chatara, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Craig Ervine, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Hamilton Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Solomon Mire, Tawanda Mupariwa, Tinashe Panyangara, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya and Sean Williams.

Non-travelling reserves: John Nyumbu, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Cephas Zhuwao.



You might also like