Wednesday, August 10, 2022

England calls 3-uncapped players; Moeen, Robson, Jordan


LONDON: England has announced the 12-man squad for upcoming test series against Sri Lanka, ARY New reported.

England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has included three uncapped players – Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan and Sam Robson in the squad.

Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior and Chris Woakes have made the comeback in the team. For Plunkett it is his first call up for seven years – but he has been bowling consistently for Yorkshire.

Matt Prior, an Ashes vice-captain who was dispensed with for the final two Tests in Australia but who returns as Cook’s dressing-room sergeant major. Prior is perhaps England’s biggest gamble. They were desperate to select him and it would have needed Sussex’s regular medical updates to warn that they had had to install a stair lift outside the Hove dressing room for him to be discounted.

Ben Stokes, the century maker of Ashes remained failed to gain confidence of selectors.

There are only seven survivors from that fateful Ashes squad. To run through some of the names in England’s last Test, against Australia in Sydney, is to recognise the extent of the changes: there is no Jonny Bairstow, Boyd Rankin, Scott Borthwick, Michael Carberry.

Graeme Swann has retired, Monty Panesar, muddle-headedly, needs to regain trust before he will be considered as a permanent replacement and, while any right-thinking person should wish Jonathan Trott well in his attempts to return to the professional game, England’s attention seems to have turned elsewhere. From England’s rock to a hard place in no time at all.

Two tests will be played between the two teams – first will start on Jun 16 at Lords while second will be played at Headingley, Leeds from June 20 to 24.

England squad

Alastair Cook, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Matt Prior, Sam Robson, Joe Root, Chris Woakes.



Latest Posts