Thursday, September 23, 2021

Govt defers PIA bill for three weeks, forms committee


During a joint sitting of parliament today, a 10-member committee has also been constituted that will present its recommendation on six bills including one of the PIA. The committee will be headed by Finance Minister Ishaq Dar.

Other members of the committee will be Mushahidullah Khan, Hasil Bizenjo, Saeed Ghani, Zahid Hamid, Shahid Kahqan Abbasi, Khurram Dastgir, Naveed Qamar, Farooq Sattar and Maulana Fazlur Rehman.

Following the completion of committee work, a joint session of parliament will be summoned on April 11. The session will be chaired by speaker Ayaz Sadiq.

Mr. Sadiq told the parliament that talks will be held on all six bills between the government and the opposition.

The opposition parties warned the government of flagrant refusal of bill in the House if their recommendations were ignored.

Latest Posts