Monday, September 26, 2022

Imad’s bowling helps Jamaica clinch second CPL title


Jamaica Tallawahs won the toss and chose to bowl first in the final played at Saint Kitts and Nevis.

Guyana Amazon, batting first, were back in the pavilion after scoring just 93 runs in 16.1 overs.

Only Sohail Tanvir managed to provide any resistance to the Jamaican bowlers as he was the top scorer with 42 runs from 37 balls after hitting a six.

Imad Wasim took three wickets for Tallawahs whereas Shakib Al Hasan and Kesrick Williams dismissed two Guyana batsmen each in the final.

The Jamaican batsmen steamrolled their way to the target of 94 runs as they scored 95 runs in 12.5 overs with nine wickets to spare.

Chris Gayle scored 54 runs from 27 balls with three fours and six sixes whereas Chadwick Walton and Kumar Sangakkara scored 25 and 12 runs respectively with the blade.

Rayad Emrit was the only wicket taker for Guyana.

Imad Wasim was named Player of the match whereas his team mate Andre Russell was named Player of the tournament.



Latest Posts