Thursday, October 6, 2022

Murad Shah sworn in as Sindh chief minister


KARACHI: Newly-elected Leader of the House in Sindh Assembly, Murad Ali Shah has sworn in as Sindh chief minister on Saturday.

Acting governor Agha Siraj Khan Durrani administered the oath to Shah who was earlier elected as the chief executive of the province for a second term.

Bilawal Bhutto Zardari, Bakhtawar Bhutto Zardari, Aseefa Bhutto Zardari, Kursheed Shah, Qamar Zaman Kaira, other parliamentarians, lawmakers, government officials and several dignitaries attended the ceremony at the Governor House.

He was elected the new CM on Thursday by the Sindh Assembly. He secured 97 votes out of 158 votes polled in the election for leader of the house.

Shah defeated Sheharyar Khan Mahar, who was the candidate of a joint opposition alliance, which included the Grand Democratic Alliance, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

He served as the finance and irrigation minister in the previous PPP government before he was elected as the chief minister from July 29, 2016 to May 28 this year.

Shah was elected on a provincial assembly seat, PS-80, in his hometown Sehwan Sharif in last month’s general elections.

The caretaker government in Sindh will stand dissolved with his oath-taking.

Read More: Murad Ali Shah to be sworn in as Sindh CM


Latest Posts