Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Unofficial results: PML-N leads in NA-249 Karachi by-election as vote count underway


KARACHI: Polling for the by-election for National Assembly constituency NA-249- Karachi West-II concluded on Thursday as results have started to pour in, ARY NEWS reported. 

The polling started at 8 am and continued till 5 pm without any break. Sindh government has announced a public holiday, today (Thursday) in NA-249 Karachi constituency due to a by-election.

Unofficial Results   

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results of 72 polling stations, PML-N’s Miftah Ismail was in the lead with 6324 votes against PPP’s Qadir Mandokhail who acquired 4123 votes.

However,  PSP candidate Mustafa Kamal secured 2734 votes, banned TLP’s Mufti Nazeer 2427 votes, PTI candidate Amjad Afridi secured 1445 votes and MQM-P’s Hafiz Mursaleen bagged 1323 votes, according to unofficial results of 72 polling stations out of 273.

According to the first unofficial result obtained by ARY NEWS from polling station 215, PML-N’s Miftah Ismail secured 68 votes followed by outlawed TLP’s Mufti Nazir who bagged 39 votes.

At polling station Number 90, PTI’s Amjad Afridi secured 73 votes followed by Miftah Ismail’s 29 votes.

Amjad Afridi of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Miftah Ismail of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Qadir Khan Madokhaill of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Mustafa Kamal of Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP), and Mohammad Mursaleen of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) are among the 30 candidates taking part in the election in the constituency.

The number of registered voters in the constituency is 339,591 out of which 201,656 are male and 137,935 are female voters who will exercise their right of the vote today.

Read More: NA-249 by-election: Two caught for ‘bribing’ RO

The NA-249 seat had fallen vacant after Faisal Vawda of the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) resigned from the National Assembly for his Senate seat.

Six PTI MPAs expelled from NA-249

The election commission officials on Thursday ordered six MPAs of the PTI to leave NA-249 constituency over violation of the code of conduct during the by-election.

The election officials served notices to PTI members of Sindh Assembly Firdous Shamim Naqvi, Saeed Afridi, Bilal Ghaffar, Raja Azhar, Shahnawaz Jadoon and Shahzad Awan to leave the constituency.

The election commission officials also directed the PML-N MNA Kheal Das Kohistani to quit the constituency.

According to the election code of conduct, a public office holder could not visit a constituency during the election.


Latest Posts