Monday, September 26, 2022

New Zealand announce 15-man squad for T20Is against Pakistan


WELLINGTON: New Zealand on Wednesday announced a 15-man squad for the three-match Twenty20 International series against Pakistan later this month.

The three-match T-20I series against Pakistan will commence from January 22 till January 28, 2018.

Coach Mike Hesson announced an interchangeable 13-man squad with Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, and Lockie Ferguson to all be rested at different stages.

Boult is also being rested for Friday’s final ODI at the Basin Reserve. He is to be replaced by Seth Rance.

Selector Gavin Larsen said it was exciting to have Ben Wheeler back in the squad. Wheeler hasn’t played for the national side since February 2017.

“Ben’s ability to swing the ball makes him a threatening bowler and his batting power and athleticism in the field compliments that nicely,” Larsen noted.

“It will be nice to see more of Ben and Seth while we manage the workloads of Tim and Trent.

Blackcaps Twenty20 squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult (second and third T20 only), Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (second and third T20 only), Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee (first and third T20 only), Ross Taylor (first T20 only), Ben Wheeler.


Latest Posts