Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Opposition parties, minus PPP, nominate Fazlur Rehman as presidential candidate


ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) led opposition parties, minus Pakistan People’s Party, have nominated Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) chief Maulana Fazlur Rehman as their presidential candidate.

The opposition parties, which had earlier announced to field a joint candidate, failed to reach a consensus, as Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) insisted on the candidacy of Aitzaz Ahsan for the presidential election.

Speaking to the media today, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri said the PPP must support the opposition parties for joint presidential nominee.

‘If we get united, we will win the presidential elections,” he added.

The decision loudly demonstrated  fissures in the opposition ranks, providing virtually a walkover to the presidential candidate of ruling Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI).

Maulana Fazl ul Rehman will shortly submit his nomination papers as joint candidate of the opposition parties minus PPP, at Islamabad High Court, a spokesman of JUI-F said.

A meeting of the opposition parties was held in Murree at Nawaz Sharif residence on Saturday in efforts to agree on a presidential candidate against PTI’s Arif Alvi.

The opposition huddle, however, failed to create a consensus, as the PPP rejected Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s objections over Ahsan and decided to stick to its choice of candidate for the top state office.

With a divided opposition, which is otherwise formidable in numbers, the Presidential Election on September 04, will prove a cakewalk for the PTI candidate, Dr. Arif Alvi, as the opposition votes will be divided in two candidates, PPP’s Aitzaz Ahsan and JUI-F chief Fazlur Rahman.

Fazl will be the joint candidate of the PML-N, Muttahida Majlis-i-Amal (MMA), Awami National Party, Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party and National Party, the party spokesperson told media.

How the Presidential Elections held

The President of Pakistan is elected through an electoral college which includes members of Senate, National Assembly, and the four provincial assemblies.

The voting is conducted through a secret ballot process on September 04.


Latest Posts