Tuesday, June 28, 2022

PSL 2017: Roy brings first victory to Lahore Qalandars


DUBAI: Jason Roy’s fifty helped Lahore Qalandars beat Islamabad United by six wickets on Friday, the side’s first victory in PSL 2017.

Roy hit six fours and one six in his 60 runs knock, steering his side to their first victory in the league. Umar Akmal and the side’s captain McCullum scored 35 and 25 runs respectively. McCullum, however, scored his 25 runs only in 10 balls.


Earlier, Islamabad United scored 158 runs for the loss of seven wickets as an amazing spell by LQ’s Grant Elliott left the side’s batting order devastated as IU’s openers along with their superstars Haddin and Watson lost their wickets to the Kiwi all-rounder.

The performance earned Elliott the ‘Man of the Match’ award.

It was a quick fifty by captain Misbah-ul-Haq which helped IU put 158 on board. Misbah hit 5 sixes in his ubeaten 61 runs knock on 36 balls.

Lahore Qalandars had won the toss and chosen to field first.

Islamabad United XI: Dwayne Smith, Brad Haddin, Shane Watson, Sam Billings, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Imran Khalid, Shadab Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Sami, Rumman Raees and Asif Ali.

Lahore Qalandars XI: Jason Roy, Brendon McCullum (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Grant Elliott, Sohail Tanvir, Sunil Narine, Bilawal Bhatti, Yasir Shah and Mohammad Irfan.


Latest Posts