Friday, May 27, 2022

Treason Case: Govt files complaint against Musharraf


ISLAMABAD: Interior Ministry on Thursday filed complaint in Pervez Musharraf treason case, ARY News reported.

Interior Secretary Shahid Khan registered government complaint in the special court and pleaded for court proceedings under Article 6 of the constitution against former president Pervez Musharraf. 

Pakistan’s Interior Ministry earlier set up two teams to represent the government in trial against former military ruler Musharraf under Article 6 of the Constitution.

Advocate Akram Shaikh will supervise both the teams, headed by Dr Tariq Hassan and Nasiruddin Khan. 

According to media reports, the charge sheet presses five charges including November 3 emergency, detention of superior judges and implementation of PCO against Musharraf. 

A special court earlier set up to try Musharraf under treason charges comprises of Justice Faisal Arab of Sindh High Court, Justice Tahira Safdar of the Balochistan High Court and Justice Yawar Ali of Lahore High Court.

Apart from Akram Sheikh, the lawyers representing the government are: Dr Tariq Hassan, Nasiruddin Khan Nayyar, Ikram Chaudhry, Sardar Asmatullah, Tayyab Jafri, Ishtiaq Ibrahim, Sajeel Shaharyar, Natalya Kamal, Sharjeel Adnan Sheikh, Hasan Mann, Faraz Raza, Haider Murtaza, Naeem Qureshi and Raheel Kamran Sheikh.

The 8-member panel which would defend the former army chief in treason case are: Sharifuddin Pirzada, Dr Khalid Ranjha, Ilyas Siddiqui, Ahmed Raza Kasuri, Ibrahim Satti, Anwar Mansoor and Waqar Rana.


Latest Posts