Monday, May 23, 2022

Model Town APC demands Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanuallah’s resignation by Jan 7


LAHORE: The All-Parties Conference convened by Pakistan Awami Tehreek to deliberate on further course of action over the Model Town incident on Saturday gave the final deadline and called for the resignation of Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif and Law Minister Rana Sanaullah by January 7.

Addressing a joint presser after the APC, Tahir-ul-Qadri said that the conference deliberated a range of issues including all aspects of the Model Town incident and  the political situation in the country, and the obstacles by the ruling party in the dispensation of justice. He said the APC by forty political and religious parties from across the country.

The APC released a ten-point declaration after the conference which was unanimously passed. The resolution was drafted by a steering committee including Qammar Zaman Kaira (PPP), Shafqat Mahmood (PTI), Sheikh Rashid Ahmed (AML), Waseem Aftab (PSP) and Chaudhry Zaheeruddin (PML-Q) and representatives of several other parties.

Pakistan People’s Party leader Qammar Zaman Kaira and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) vice-chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi read the final declaration.

The APC strongly condemned the Model Town incident and the amendments in the Khatam-e-Nabuwat (Finality of the Prophethood) clauses, and those responsible and were complicit should be also be held responsible.

“Model Town incident is the worst form of state terrorism in which PML-N leadership including Nawaz Sharif, Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah, policeman and bureaucrats are directly involved,” said the statement.

Furthermore, an attempt to amend the Khatam-e-Nabuwat clauses hurt the sentiments of millions of Muslims across the country and was an attack on the constitution, and the “masterminds” have not been exposed nor those resposible being punished. The APC said that the government lost moral authority and the matter will not settled until those responsible are held accountable.

model town

The families of the victims of the Model Town incident have received the Bajir Najifi inquiry report after struggling for nearly three years, which shows that justice cannot be received in the presence of Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah.

Furthermore, more than 125 policemen were summoned but no one was held responsible, while no bureaucrat or government official was even summoned, which shows that the government has failed miserably in providing justice.

Therefore, the APC demands that Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah along with responsible officials should resign by January 7, 2018. In case resignation are not given, the steering committee will convene a meeting on Jan 8 and announce the further course of action.

APC also demanded that all provincial assemblies and the Senate to pass resolutions calling for the resignation of Shehbaz Sharif and Rana Sanaullah.

It appealed to the Chief Justice of Pakistan to take suo moto notice of the incident, and form an unbiased and impartial joint investigation team (JIT) for the ‘injustice to humanity’ which should be monitored by judge of the apex court.

Furthermore, it demand that those responsible for the Model Town incident should not be any NRO or any other relaxation. A steering committee has been formed to monitor the implementation of the resolution.


Latest Posts