The news is by your side.

Army chief confirms death sentences to 12 terrorists

RAWALPINDI: Chief of Army Staff General Qamar Jawed Bajwa on Friday confirmed capital punishments awarded to 12 hardcore terrorists.

According to Inter Service Public Relations (ISPR), the terrorists whose death sentences have been ratified by the army chief were involved in heinous offences related to terrorism, attacking armed forces and law enforcement agencies, destruction of educational institutions, telephone exchanges and killing of innocent civilians.

The terrorists who face death penalty include Ghani Rehman, Abdul Ghazi, Zia ur Rehman, Javid Khan, Muhammad Zubair, Umar Nawaz, Sajid Khan, Haibat Khan, Ahmed Shah, Baz Muhammad, Momeen Khan, and Suleman Bahadur.

On the whole, they were involved in the killing of 99 persons including 7 civilians, 92 personnel of armed forces, Frontier Constabulary, police and injuring 58 others.

They were also involved in attacking Bannu and Dera Ismail Khan Jails.

Weapons and explosives were recovered from their possession. These convicts were tried by special military courts.

Besides, six convicts have also been awarded imprisonment.



You might also like