The news is by your side.

PTV attack case: Non-bailable arrest warrant of Shaukat Yousafzai issued

ISLAMABAD: The Anti Terrorism Court (ATC) of Islamabad Tuesday has issued non-bailable arrest warrants of 26 Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) workers including Khyber Pakhtunkhuwa’s Information Minister Shaukat Yousafzai, in PTV, Parliament attack case.

The non-bailable warrant for the KP minister was issued over his non appearance before the court in the case.

The court has ordered the police to arrest and produce Yousafzai before it.

During today’s hearing the ATC granted one day exemption from the court appearance to Federal Ministers Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Asad Umar and Shafqat Mehmood.

However, the pleas seeking acquittal of President Arif Alvi, Prime Minister Imran Khan and Jehangir Tareen could not be taken up today.

Read more: President Alvi files acquittal plea in parliament attack case

Later, the hearing of the case was adjourned till March 28.

In 2014, PTI chief Imran Khan and PAT leader Tahirul Qadri took to streets in the federal capital against alleged rigging in 2013 general elections and Model Town incident respectively. In this regard, police had booked Khan and Dr Qadri along with their supporters in a number of cases during the 2014 sit-in calling for the resignation of the then prime minister Nawaz Sharif.

In the case, 70 people were booked after a mob of protesters belonging to the PTI and PAT stormed PTV headquarters and forced its staff to take two of the state broadcaster’s flagship channels — PTV News and PTV World — off the air on Sept 1, 2014.




You might also like