The news is by your side.

Intra-party elections: Imran Khan elected as PTI chairman

ISLAMABAD: Imran Khan has been re-elected as chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf in the intra-party elections with a resounding majority, the party announced on Tuesday.

The PTI held intra-party elections from June 11-12 in which members from across the country voted for the panel of their choice. There were two panels each having fourteen members and all party members had to choose either the Insaf or Ehtisab panel.

Imran Khan chaired the Insaf panel which included Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi and Secretary General Jahangir Tareen

The other newly elected office bearers includes Central Punjab president Aleem Khan, Sindh president Arif Rehman Alvi, Balochistan president Yar Muhammad Rind, and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa South president Ali Amin Gandapur.

PTI Chief Election Commissioner Senator Azam Swati announced the election result in which Imran Khan-led panel secured 189,055 votes whereas the rival Ehtesab panel secured 41,647 votes.

The party workers had cast a total of 256,957 votes, out of which around 26,256 votes were rejected for not following the proper procedure. Swati said that the highest number of votes were cast from Punjab followed by KP.

The other Ehtisab panel included Naik Muhammad Khan as chairman, Syed Aftab Shah as vice chairman and Dr. Shahzad Waseem as Secretary General.



You might also like