The news is by your side.

Inzi under the cloud: Twitter explodes against Fawad’s exclusion from England tour

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced national team’s 16-member squad including five uncapped players for the series against Ireland and England. But there’s a catch – the squad doesn’t have Fawad Alam who is the top domestic performer. The expulsion prompted cricket enthusiasts to turn their guns on Inzimam-ul-Haq for allegedly preferring his nephew over Alam.

Twitter was in virtual meltdown following official statement of the Pakistan Cricket Board unveiling name of the 16 players was released. Cricket fans went berserk over that fact that Inzimam ul Haq, chief selector of Pakistan cricket team, excluded Fawad’s name in favor of his nephew Imam ul Haq to the list.

Left-hander Imam, who made his ODI debut last October was preferred over Fawad Alam who scored 10,742 runs in 145 first-class matches with the average of 55.37.

The performance meter!

Fawad Alam

Fawad Alam

Imamul Haq

Imamul Haq

Inzimam has, however, not yet issued any statement over Fawad Alam’s expulsion.

Fans took to Twitter to speak against this perceived ‘injustice’ and started tweeting with the hashtag #justice4FawadAlam.


chief selector @InziTheLegend exposed again, after some flops like A. shehzad kind of selections in past, now once again prefering his nephew over @iamfawadalam25 . Inam’s FC average is more than 20 runs less than Fawad Alam’s. Disgusting!#Justice4FawadAlam #CricketerFawadAlam

— Muraash ♡ (@Muraash4) April 16, 2018

According to Media reports acclaimed former cricketer Wasim Akram also shared his disbelief over not pick Alam for the team he said;

“Players play domestic circuit in view of getting an opportunity to play international cricket. I cant understand why Fawad is not getting an opportunity, he is still out from the squad despite scoring runs in domestic on an average of 50 in the last three-four years. It’s beyond me.”

On a lighter note — Inzimam has ignited the attention of social media trolls



The team squad consists of Sarfraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Azhar Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Sami Aslam, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Saad Ali, Asad Shafiq, Usman Salahuddin, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Rahat Ali and Faheem Ashraf.



You might also like