The news is by your side.

Mehmood Khan elected new KP chief minister

PESHAWAR: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) MPA Mehmood Khan was elected as the new chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province  on Thursday

Mahmood Khan bagged 77 votes against 33 of Mian Nisar Gul of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA).

Speaker Mushtaq Ghani presided over the session of the provincial legislature during which secret balloting to elect the new leader of the house took place.

After the voting, the speaker announced the results, declaring Mr Khan elected as chief executive of the province.

Mehmood Khan hails from Swat and served as minister for sports, culture and tourism in the previous tenure of PTI. He has also held the portfolio of KP home minister for a brief period.

After taking the oath of his office, he will become the first chief minister of KP from Malakand Division.

Yesterday, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) Assembly elected PTI candidate Mushtaq Ghani as the new speaker of the house.

Mushtaq Ghani garnered 81 votes and beat his opponent Laiq Muhammad Khan of Awami National Party (ANP) who managed 27 votes.

Mushtaq Ghani later took oath of office and chaired the assembly session.

For the post of deputy speaker of KP Assembly, Mehmood Jan from PTI was elected after getting 78 votes, while his opponent Jamshed Mohamand of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz received 30 votes.



You might also like