The news is by your side.

NA-120 by-polls: What the history tells us about this Lahore constituency

Lahore’s NA-120 constituency will perhaps see the first of its kind by-polls in its long history  when at least 44 candidates will join the tug of war on Sunday.

The constituency in Lahore’s heart comprises Islampura, Bilal, Gunj, Raj Garh, Riwaz Garden, Sanat Nagar, Ram Nagar, Dave Samaj Road, Sham Nagar, Sanda, Civil Secretariat, Prem Nagar, Momin Pura Kasurpura, Sanda, Muzang,  Kareem Park , Chauburji,  Khokhar Town and other areas.

Since the disqualification and eventual removal of former prime minister Mian Nawaz Sharif after the Supreme Court verdict in Panama papers case, this constituency which elected him as an MNA has become the hub of the political activity.CoCon

Considered a PML-N stronghold, PTI’s Yasmeen Rashid, PPP’s Faisal Mir and PML-N’s Kulsoom Nawaz are being considered as strong candidates.

A total of 220 polling stations and 573 polling booths have been formed for the by-polls

The ECP says that there are 321,786 registered voters in the constituency.

Let’s take a look at how the past elections in the constituency fared for PML-N and other parties.

2013 General Elections

Then PML-N chief, Nawaz Sharif secured 91,666 votes and beat rival PTI candidate Dr. Yasmeen Rashid by at least 39000 votes, a huge margin.

PPP’s Zubair Kardar could only manage to get 2604 votes from the constituency.

2008 General Elections

PML-N’s Bilal Yaseen secured victory by getting 65,946 votes,  PPP’s Jahangir Badar was the second in line with 24,380 votes. PML-Q, then considered a strong party could only manage to get 4,270 votes.

2002 General Elections

PML-N’s Muhammed Pervaiz Malik won this seat with 33,741 votes followed by PPP’s Altaf Qureshi’s 19483 votes while PML-Q’s Mian Muhammad Ashraf secured only 15085 votes.




You might also like