Najam Sethi confirms sixth team, eight matches in Pakistan for next PSL

KARACHI: After successfully holding the Pakistan Super League (PSL) final in Lahore last month, chairman Najam Sethi has announced to try and hold eight matches in Pakistan in the next edition. 

Without further details, Sethi  said that the total matches in the next edition of PSL is expected to rise from 24 to 34 out of which eight might be held in Pakistan.

“Will try for up to 8 matches in Pak,” he tweeted. He also announced that the number of teams would likely increase from five to six, but did not mention the name of the sixth team.

The second edition of the PSL hosted the league’s final in Lahore in which several foreign players including former West Indies captain Darren Sammy participated.


There are speculations that Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is contemplating different names for the sixth team either from Azad Kashmir or Gilgit-Baltistan.

However, a final name for the team will be decided after suggestions from all the stakeholders including potential owners of the sixth franchise who would have the advantage to choose a region of their choice.

The other possible names for the sixth franchises could be Azad Kashmir, Gilgit Baltistan, Sialkot, Multan or Faisalabad. A special meeting of PCB’s Board of Governors will also be convened to discuss and finalise the inclusion of the sixth team in PSL.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email



ARY Sports

Copyright © 2017

To Top

Najam Sethi confirms sixth team, eight matches in Pakistan for next PSL

by Web Desk