The news is by your side.

Nisar to contest next elections from three constituencies

ISLAMABAD: Former interior minister and Pakistan Muslim League (PML-N) stalwart Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan on Monday announced the constituencies from which he would contest the next general elections.

Nisar would contest from one National Assembly, NA-59 in Attock, and two provincial assembly constituencies, PS-10 and PS-14, in Rawalpindi.

The decision by made during a visit by a delegation led by Union council chairman and vice-chairman district Attock. Nisar also expressed his desire to contest the next election from NA-63 in Taxila.

The UC delegation appreciated Nisar’s services and expressed confidence in his leadership. They said that a politician like Nisar was a matter of pride for the people of Potohar region.

Nisar thanked the local government representatives for their support, and said he would made a final decision after consultation with the party representatives of Wah, Taxila. The delegation vowed to support Nisar irrespective of the constituency chosen to contest the next elections.

There was intense speculation on the constituency Nisar would select to contest the next election given his ongoing rift with the PML-N leadership.

This also gave rise to rumours that Nisar was likely to join the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and was even invited by chairman Imran Khan to join the party.

PML-N President and Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif has made several attempts to woo Nisar, who has reportedly said that PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif should instead visit him.



You might also like