The news is by your side.

Pakistan cricket team reaches UAE for Sri Lanka series

DUBAI: Pakistan cricket squad reached the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on early Sunday to play a series against Sri Lanka.

The 16-players squad arrived here via Emirate Airline flight 623.

Both sides will lock horn in the first test match on Thursday (September 28) in Abu Dhabi. The second day-night test match will be played on October 6 in Dubai.

The two teams will also play five One-Day Internationals (ODIs) and three Twenty20s (T20s) later in October month.

Moreover, the Sri Lankan side will visit Pakistan for the last T20, scheduled to be played at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium on October 29.

READ ALSO: PCB announces 16-men test squad for Sri Lanka series

On Saturday, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chief Selector Inzamam-ul-Haq said that young players have been given chance to demonstrate their talent in the upcoming event while announcing the national squad, comprising five uncapped players.

Haq said that the squad comprises five fast bowlers and three spinners. “Azhar Ali has been selected in the squad after he proved his fitness during training camp,” he added.

Admiring the performance of leg spinner Yasir Shah, the chief selector said that Shah has been the best Pakistani bowler for last four fours.

Announcing the 16-member squad under the captaincy of Sarfaraz Ahmed, Haq was opined that the spinners would prove to be ideal for the upcoming series in UAE due to local weather conditions.

The squad includes: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Asghar, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas, Wahab Riaz

Two Pakistani batsmen Mohammad Rizwan and Ahmad Shehzad have been dropped from the test squad.

Azhar Ali had suffered a knee injury and he was seen performing light exercises along with other team players during training camp at Gaddafi stadium earlier this week.



You might also like