The news is by your side.

PML-N boycotts Punjab Assembly session after MPAs denied entry

LAHORE: A number of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) MPAs on Friday staged a protest demonstration outside the Punjab Assembly after six members of the opposition were barred from entering the assembly.

The PML-N lawmakers also boycotted today’s session of the provincial legislature convened to discuss budget.

The six MPAs, who have been served show-cause notices for reportedly damaging benches and other properties of the house during its previous session, were denied entry into the assembly.

As a result, members of the opposition gathered outside the assembly, protesting against Speaker Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi.

Leader of the Opposition in the provincial legislature Hamza Shehbaz joined the protesters. Speaking on the occasion, he said the opposition members will not attend the session unless the orders with regard to suspension of the MPAs are withdrawn.

He demanded that the speaker should retract his remarks about members of the opposition or else they won’t attend the assembly session.

Hamza announced to boycott the session until their demands are not met.

Taking an aim at the ruling coalition, he said that a person who stole votes is occupying the office of the speaker. Prime Minister Imran Khan, who had called Mr Elahi a plunderer, got him elected to this coveted post, he added.

Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhary Parvez Elehi has imposed a ban on six members of the assembly.

Those who cannot enter the assembly till completion of the budget session include Muhammad Ashraf, Malik Muhammad Wahid, Muhammad Yaseen Amir, Muhammad Mirza, Tariq Masih Gill and Zabul-Nisa.

The members are accused of disturbing the budget session, tearing budget copies, breaking microphones, recording machines and furniture of the house.



You might also like