The news is by your side.

PSL 2017: Defiant Gladiators beat Qalandars in high-scoring thriller

SHARJAH: Helped by Kevin Pietersen and Sarfraz Ahmed’s brilliant performance with the bat, Quetta Gladiators chased the biggest total of PSL 2017 by chasing Qalandar’s 200 runs in their PSL encounter here in Sharjah, ARY News reported on Saturday.


Kevin Pietersen and Sarfraz Ahmed held their nerve to bring their team the a history-repeating victory. Pietersen hit 88 off 42 balls while Sarfraz Ahmed hit 45 off 25 balls. Quetta were just 81-3 in 9.2 overs when Rossouw lost his wicket after scoring 33 runs off just 18 balls.

Quetta were a little slow but steady in their chase but it was the game-changing over by LQ’s Irfan in which Pietersen hit sixes to minimize the difference between the target and the score which made all the difference.



Earlier, Jason Roy and Fakhar Zaman helped Lahore Qalandars pile up a huge total of  200 on the loss of 3 wickets.



Quetta Gladiators won the toss and put Lahore to bat, the Qalandars took every single bowler to task from the very first ball, with Jason Roy being the top scorer with a 27 ball 51 scored with the help of six fours and three sixes. Fakhar Zaman, on the other end, scored 47 runs off 31 balls.

After the duo’s dismissal, Cameron Delport and Rizwan kept hitting the ball all over the park. Delport scored 35 runs off just 21 balls while Rizwan scored 46 off 28 balls. Gladiators’ Zulfiqar Babar took 1 wicket while their young spinner Hasan Khan took two wickets.

Quetta Gladiatiors XI: Saad Nasim, Ahmed Shehzad, Kevin Pietersen, Rilee Rossouw, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Mahmudullah, Thisara Perera, Mohammad Nawaz, Anwar Ali, Hasan Khan and Zulfiqar Babar.

Lahore Qalandars XI: Jason Roy, Brendon McCullum(capt), Fakhar Zaman, Cameron Delport, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan(wk), Sunil Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Bilawal Bhatti, Mohammad Irfan Jr. and Yasir Shah.




You might also like