The news is by your side.

PSL 3: Karachi Kings, other franchises pick replacements for unavailable foreign cricketers

LAHORE: Pakistan Super League (PSL) franchises chose substitutes at the replacement draft for the third edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) held at Pakistan Cricket Board’s headquarters in Lahore on Monday.

The most popular PSL franchise Karachi Kings was the most active during the draft as it signed England fast bowler Tymal Mills in place of Australian pacer Mitchell Johnson, former England playr Joe Denly in place of Luke Wright and West Indian batsman Lendl Simmons to replace New Zealand’s Colin Munro.

Mills has played four T20 internationals for England, while Denly has played nine ODIs and five T20s in 2009 and 2010.

On the other hand, Quetta Gladiators signed  Jofra Archer in place of been signed by Team Quetta and Lahore Qalandars in place of Carlos Brathwaite and Angelo Mathews respectively.

Read More: Official anthem for the third season of PSL released

English cricketer Luke Wright has not just pulled out of PSL but Sussex CCC as well.

“For those asking sadly I’ve had to pull out the @thePSLt20 this year. I’ve been carrying niggles all winter and they aren’t getting better so to being fair to both @KarachiKingsARY & @SussexCCC I respectfully have to miss it. Great tournament. Hope to play in it next year,” he wrote on his Twitter account.

Celebrated Aussie bowler Mitchell Johnson also announced his unavailability for the third edition of PSL earlier this month.

“Yes I am making myself unavailable this PSL18 for personal reasons & also for me to schedule myself the way I feel works best for me this year for 20/20 tournaments. These are the only reasons for me not playing. I wish KK the best for the season,” wrote the Australian pacer.

PCB also announced that ten other players will be unavailable for some of the matches due to national duty, so other international players have been selected for their cover. The replacement players will become active as and when the players they are covering for become unavailable for selection.

West Indian star Dwayne Smith will joinPeshawar Zalmi as cover for DJ Bravo, who will be making his way back from rehab, and Tamim Iqbal, who will leave for national duty on March 4.

Afghan spinner Zahir Khan will join ‘Multan Sultans’ to provide cover for West Indian batsman Nicholas Pooran for the first three games of the tournament. Pooran will join the Sultans after finishing with the domestic 50-over competition back home.

The third season of the PSL will kick off on February 22 and the final match of the star-studded campaign will be played on March 25 in Karachi.

Read More: Hasan doubtful for PSL start



You might also like