The news is by your side.

Setback for PML-N as MNA from Gujranwala leaves party

GUJRANWALA: A member of the National Assembly associated with the ruling Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) announced on Tuesday to part ways with the party, ARY News reported.

Lawmaker Mian Tariq Mehmood, elected from NA-98 (Gujranwala-IV), ditched the ruling party along with a large number of representatives of the local government elected on PML-N tickets.

Mehmood was elected from the National Assembly seat in Gujranwala in the 2013 general elections.

He didn’t disclose the reason behind his defection, nor did he announce his plans whether he will join any other party in future.

The legislator said he would contest the upcoming general elections against Defence Minister Khuram Dastagir Khan from a NA seat in Gujranwal.

The minister was elected from NA-96 (Gujranwal-II) in the 2013 polls.

Among the local government representatives who deserted the party are chairmen and vice chairmen of three municipal committees. The chairmen and vice chairmen of 13 union councils also bade adieu to the party.

Two former MPAs – Mazhar Javed and Ghulam Sarwar – too announced to leave the party.



You might also like