The news is by your side.

Sri Lanka announce Twenty20 team for Pakistan series

SHARJAH: Sri Lanka on Saturday announced a 15-man Twenty20 squad for the three-match Twenty20 series against Pakistan.

Thisara Perera will lead the team for the series in which the first two matches will be played in Abu Dhabi on October 26 and 27 before flying to Lahore for the last match on October 29.

Sri Lanka’s limited-overs captain Upul Tharanga will not be a part of the team since he refused to play the third T20 of the series in Lahore. Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal and Lasith Malinga have also been excluded from the squad as they opted not to play in Lahore.

Earlier, Sri Lanka’s Minister of Sports Dayasiri Jayasekara had rejected the request to field separate Sri Lankan teams for the Twenty20 Internationals in the UAE and the one in Lahore.

The minister told a sports website that the suggestion was put forward by fast bowler Lasith Malinga.

“It is not fair to allow players to pick and choose games,” said the minister.

He added that the board has informed him that they have done a thorough security check and have received all necessary clearance from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

“The PCB has promised security that is given to Heads of States. If everything is fine, we have to go to Pakistan. I too intend to be in Lahore for the game,” Minister Jayasekara told the website.

The Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) on Monday confirmed its commitment to play the third and final T20 game of the three match series at the Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore, on October 29.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Thisara Perera (captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ashan Priyanjan, Mahela Udawatte, Dasun Shanaka, Sachith Pathirana, Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Gamage, Seekkuge Prasanna, Vishwa Fernando, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay and Chathuranga de Silva.



You might also like