The news is by your side.

Tribal agencies merged in different divisions of KP

PESHAWAR: The caretaker government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has merged the tribal agencies of the former Fata region in different divisions of the province.

According to a notification issued by Revenue Department in Peshawar, Khyber and Mohmand districts have been declared as part of Peshawar division and Bajaur of Malakand division respectively.

Similarly, Orakzai and Kurram districts have been merged with Kohat division, North Waziristan in Bannu and South Waziristan in Dera Ismail Khan divisions.

ReadNational Assembly passes historic FATA-KP merger bill

In May this year, the Senate, after the National Assembly, had approved the Constitution Amendment Bill, 2018 with majority for the merger of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

According to the amendment, the number of seats in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly will increase to 145 from existing 124. Fata will be granted 16 general seats, four seats for women and one seat for non-Muslims in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly.

Elections on these provincial legislature seats shall be held within one year after the general elections 2018.

The amendment reduces the number of seats in the National Assembly from 342 to 336. The members of the National Assembly from Fata to be elected in the 2018 election shall continue till dissolution of the Lower House.

According to the constitutional amendment, the number of seats of Senate will be reduced to 96 from existing 104.  The existing members of the Senate from Fata shall continue till expiry of their respective terms of office.



You might also like