Wednesday, August 17, 2022

Polling for PP-30 Sargodha by-election underway


SARGODHA: Polling for by-election on the provincial assembly seat in Sargodha (PP-30) began on Sunday morning.

Voting began at 8:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any break.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Yasir Zafar and PTI’s Rao Sajid Mehmood are in the run for the seat, which fell vacant owing to the demise of former PML-N MPA Chauhdry Tahir Sindhu on January 8, 2018.

A tough contest is being expected between the ruling PML-N and the opposition PTI candidates.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has made special arrangements to conduct the by-poll in a transparent and peaceful manner.

The total registered voters in the constituency are 1,73,919, out of which 98,145 are male, whereas 75,774 are female.

137 polling stations have been set up in the constituency with 137 presiding officers as well as 417 assistant presiding officers performing their duties.

Special security arrangements have been put in place in and around the polling stations to avoid any untoward happening.


Latest Posts