Thursday, September 29, 2022

PTI wins two union council seats in Abbottabad by-elections


ABBOTTABAD: The Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) candidates grabbed two of the three district council seats vacated after de-seating of union councilors for defection, while a PML-N-backed independent candidate clinched another one in by-elections held in Abbottabad today.

Unofficial results showed PTI’s Rana Safdar Zaman and Malik Salman won by-elections in Kehal and Salhad Union councils, respectively.

Whereas, PML-N-backed candidate Nazir Ahmed Abbasi won by-polls in Bakot Union council.

It merits mention here that these three seats were vacated after the de-seating of District Nazim Sardar Sher Bahadar, Naib Nazim Shoukat Tanoli and Nazeer Abbasi for defection by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

When approached against the verdict, the Peshawar High Court and Supreme Court upheld the commission’s decision.


Latest Posts