The news is by your side.

NA-249 by-election: ECP rejects PML-N, PTI pleas for vote recount

KARACHI: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Saturday turned down pleas of PTI and PML-N candidates seeking recounting of votes cast in Thursday’s NA-249 Karachi by-election.

The commission’s returning officer (RO) dismissed the election petitions filed by PTI’s Amjad Afridi and PML-N’s Miftah Ismail.

Afridi in his petition raised objections to the results of 21 polling stations of the National Assembly constituency in Karachi and alleged rigging at at least two polling stations.

Also Read: PTI rejects NA-249 by-election results

He requested the commission to order recounting of votes cast in the by-poll and conduct a probe into rigging charges.

Miftah Ismail pointed out discrepancies in Form-45 and Form-47, calling for recounting of ballots. He wrote a letter to the Chief Election Commissioner to have his grievance redressed after the RO rejected his vote recount plea.

Also Read: PML-N’s Miftah Ismail challenges NA-249 by-election results

PPP’s Abdul Qadir Mandokhail won the election by securing 16,150 votes, according to unofficial results. PML-N’s Miftah Ismail was the runner-up with 15,473 votes. Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s Mufti Nazeer Kamalvi clinched third position with 11,125 votes, followed by Mustafa Kamal of the PSP who bagged 9,227 votes.

Amjad Afridi secured 8,922 votes while Hafiz Mursaleen of the MQM 7,511.



You might also like