The news is by your side.

PM Imran constitutes 18-member Economic Advisory Council

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Imran Khan on Saturday constituted an 18-member Economic Advisory Council to ensure the availability of best possible professional advice to the government.

The Economic Advisory Council shall be chaired by the prime minister himself, Radio Pakistan reported.

The council would help to optimise and synergise the formulation and implementation of economic and financial policies of the government.

It comprises some of the most learned and well-respected experts, academics and practitioners of the field who are currently serving in, or have rich experience with, amongst the most advanced academic institutions and other specialised organisations in Pakistan and abroad.

Out of these 18 members, seven belong to the government while 11 are from the private sector.

The private sector members include Dr Farrukh lqbal, Dr Ashfaque Hassan Khan, Dr ljaz Nabi, Dr Abid Qayyum Suleri, Dr Asad Zaman, Dr Naved Hamid, Syed Salim Raza, Sakib Sherani, Dr Atif R Mian, Dr Asim ljaz Khawaja,  and Dr lmran Rasul.

Official members are the minister for finance, revenue & economic affairs, the minister for planning and development, the secretary of the finance division, the governor state bank, the adviser on institutional reforms, the adviser on commerce and the deputy chairman of planning commission.

Read More: PTI govt to hold discussion on economic condition in parliament: Mehmood Qureshi

In a statement earlier, while realising the grave situation of the economy, Finance Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi had said the new government would hold open discussion on economic condition of Pakistan in the parliament.

“Pakistan is facing several challenges and economy is the biggest challenge facing the country,” he had said.



You might also like